I don’t know why you want to delete your Protonmail account.
But for whatever reason, here is a complete guide that will walk you through the steps on how to delete Protonmail account permanently.
However, before you proceed to delete your Protonmail account, there are few things you need to put into consideration.
The reason is, you must be decisive before taking this action against your account.
Protonmail provider warns its users from deleting their accounts that this action cannot be undone.
They say there is no way you can recreate or recover your account once it is deleted.
Also, usernames do not get recycled.
What that means is that if you delete your Protonmail account permanently and in the future want to use the previous username that you have deleted, it will not be possible.
Also, you cannot delete your username simply because you want to create the same username on another domain.
It will not work that way.
You cannot change the domain once the account is created.
However, if you upgrade to the premium plan, you can then create another domain as an alias.
Now that you know all of these, you can now decide whether or not you want to delete your Protonmail account permanently.
So let’s head straight to it for people who really mean to delete their account immediately.
How to delete Protonmail account permanently
First, you will need to login to your Protonmail account.
Check out the screenshot below:
The account deletion feature is located in the account tab so navigate and scroll to the bottom left of the account page where you have the “Delete your account” button.
Once your tap on the “Delete your account” button you will be prompted to enter your account password to confirm your account deletion as well as feedback on why you are deleting your Protonmail account.
Maybe that is to help them improve their service delivery.
So that is exactly how to delete Protonmail account permanently.
What are your thoughts on this? Please share.